Eddie The Eagle, 2016

Last Tuesday January 26th I had passes to go see a screening of Eddie the Eagle directed by Dexter Fletcher starring up and coming actor Taron Egerton (Kingsmen, 2014 ) and Hugh Jackman. After having one of the worst weeks ever this film definitely put me in a great mood.

Eddie the Eagle is a biopic about Great Britain’s first Olympic Ski Jumper, Michael Edwards. Edwards started late in his career as a ski jumper but made a name for himself at the Winter Olympics in Calgary in 1988. He was not the best of athletes and was not a gold medal winner but he had the determination and mindset that won gold in the hearts of many.

Egerton’s performance from start to finish filled my heart with joy. This film had the perfect amount of humor and drama. Having such a charm about him and his character portrayal of Edwards, I found myself, smiling, crying, laughing, and slightly on the edge of the seat during the entire film. At times I thought, “I really want to be friends with Michael Edwards”. Hands down Egerton’s performance was brilliant. His costar Jackman held his own as well. (I am biased because I am a huge Jackman fan so I won’t comment on that.)

Eddie the Eagle is most definitely the feel-good-movie of 2016. It is a family friendly picture, perfect to go see if you need a pick me up. It is brought to you by 20th Century Fox and will officially be released in theatres this month, February 26th. Make sure you go and see it. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

Camino, Zoë Bell

Camino From October 22nd to November 1st we celebrate the 24th annual Philadelphia Film Festival hosted by the [Philadelphia Film Society] (www.filmadelphia.org). This 11 day festival showcases dozens of films from around the world. On... Continue →